• eBiz Insider
  • Posts
  • This simple software has earned him $400,000+ 😎

This simple software has earned him $400,000+ 😎

Welcome to a fresh edition of eBiz Insider, my free newsletter packed with tips, insights and opportunities to build your online business.

Today...

  • This Simple Software Has Earned Him $400,000+

  • 0% Commission Startup Marketplace

  • 500 Downloads Per Episode = $20K/Year Podcast

  • Thinking like Bezos, Musk, Buffett

  • Sold Their 3-Month-Old Side Project For $30,000

  • Turning Customer Chats into $15,000/Month

  • Bought For $16K, Sold For $625K

Did someone forward this to you? → subscribe here

This Simple Software Has Earned Him $400,000+

Keith Brink is the founder of AZLabels 🖨️

Which he describes as

A product to take the frustration out of printing labels on thermal printers, primarily targeted at Amazon Sellers.

AZLabels was launched in 2017.

According to Indie Hackers, the business currently earns ~$5,200/month, though it has had a few $9000+ months in the past 🤑

Keith shares the origin story…

I was an Amazon seller myself and was spending up to an hour every day just getting labels to print properly. Super inefficient. Every Amazon FBA seller has to label each product and then label each box that gets shipped to Amazon.

I had to choose between a long manual process that took 20-30 minutes per shipment, or some ancient software that was expensive, slow, didn't work half the time

That’s when he…

Took a couple of months building out an automated solution, I realized that there were likely other sellers experiencing the same issue. So I put up a basic landing page… it wasn't a wild success. I think I got 20 sign-ups in a month… but I figured I should just release it.

So he did…

After I put out the first version of AZLabels I emailed a couple of people to ask them to start using it, just to work out all the bugs… I think it's important to release an MVP quickly, but it's also important to make sure your product is worth paying for.

After that, I launched to the 20 people on my sign-up list and asked them to pay $5 a month to print as many labels as they wanted. Half of them signed up which I took to be a good sign, and it was nice to see $50 per month in the Stripe account.

Keith goes on to list a bunch of things he did to spread the word 📢

The most impactful…

I reached out to influencers in the Amazon Seller space and asked if they would be interested in an affiliate program. This has been the most consistently successful channel for me. I would say a third of our sales are driven this way.

Also…

A post on Reddit was pretty successful and brought in 10-20 new customers. It's important on Reddit to stick around and engage with anyone who comments because it will increase the activity and therefore the longevity of your post. Even if they are critical, it's actually helping your post stay at the top and be interesting for people. I've had other successes on Reddit since then by sharing new blog posts.

Looks like this is the Reddit post.

But again, those are just the things that worked 👍

Keith also tried a lot of things that proved to be a waste of time, but the only way to know that was to give them a shot.

Ultimately, all that work by Keith has resulted in $400,000+ total revenue to date 💰

His tip for other entrepreneurs…

My first tip is that you have to be doing something — anything at all — if you want to find opportunities… The key is to put in the hard work of lots of small successes that add up to one big success.

Another takeaway here is to keep an eye out 👀 for tedious manual processes or outdated software in your own work.

If you find it frustrating, other people likely do too and would be happy to pay for a solution.

🔎 permalink

0% Commission Startup Marketplace

Today's email is brought to you by Buy // Sell Startups 🥳

That's a new marketplace to buy or sell your startup.

Founder Jaisal Rathee has had 9x successful startup exits himself, and I've featured him in this newsletter before…

📝 Jaisal writes…

​​Other "micro acquisition" platforms are charging ridiculously high fees for buyers and sellers, high % of commission, and locking you in and forcing you to use their platform or partners to complete the sale.

I saw a need to offer a low cost platform that strips everything down back to the basics and does one thing very well - connecting buyers and sellers.

That's why I built Buy // Sell Startups

500 Downloads Per Episode = $20K/Year Podcast

Pat Flynn recently interviewed Wojciech Wegrzynski, a Professor of Fire Engineering at a university in Poland 🇵🇱

Wojciech also runs the Fire Science Show podcast 🔥

He gets about ~500 downloads per episode and apparently…

He's making more with his podcast than in his day job, despite having relatively smaller numbers.

The average salary of a Fire Engineer in Poland is 77,120 PLN ($19,000) per year

So it sounds like Wojciech is earning at least $20,000/year from his podcast 🤑

He says in the interview…

I knew what I'm jumping into, you know, I understood that the niche I am in is small… And I thought we need something else in the communication between the scientists and the benefactor of the science. And the podcast appeared to be a brilliant route to find them.

So I didn't really care how many people by the number will listen because I knew that there's a good chance whoever listens, I can really make a big change for the everyday work of that single person in every single episode.

💰 How Wojciech monetised the podcast…

I didn't want the hassle of selling episode by episode. So when I reached out to a sponsor, I reached out for a long term partnership... very, very openly…

Podcasting is a hard job and it takes time and it takes resources. So for something like 80 episodes, I was doing all that on my own without any financial support. And then eventually I found somebody that shares the view of the world that I have, an engineering company from the UK.

Wojciech is at ~130 episodes now.

Those first 80 episodes without a sponsor must have been a tough grind, especially given that he was working the university job and parenting his 4 kids 😱

But because he was willing to push through the difficulty of all that, he's emerged with a successful podcast he's passionate about that provides a good income.

And I love that he's done it in such a small and unusual niche.

Do you have good knowledge of a niche topic? 🤔

Even if it's a tiny niche, there may be an opportunity there to build a successful podcast.

Or a blog, or a YouTube channel.

Wojciech's advice for anyone new to podcasting…

It's not about the interview. It's about an honest conversation... listening, asking meaningful questions, following up, really digging into it with a real curiosity... I set them up. For communicating not only with knowledge but also emotion.

🔎 permalink

🗂 Thinking like Bezos, Musk, Buffett

From the archive, published September 2020…

Michael Simmons writes that such billionaires think in 4D while most people think in 1D:

Dimension 1: Focus on one field (specialization)
Dimension 2: Learn across disciplines, apply to a specialty (polymath)
Dimension 3: Think vertically from hacks to principles (mental models)
Dimension 4: Think hundreds of years into the past and future (time)

The full article is worth a read.

But this 2018 quote from Jeff Bezos about sums it up:

Friends congratulate me after a quarterly-earnings announcement and say, ‘Good job, great quarter.’ And I’ll say, ‘Thank you, but that quarter was baked three years ago.’ I’m working on a quarter that’ll happen in 2021 right now… 

I get to work two or three years into the future, and most of my leadership team has the same setup.

If you have the luxury of not needing to earn much money right now, what could you work on that would pay off in a few years, rather than in a few days/weeks/months? 🤔

🔎 permalink

Sold Their 3-Month-Old Side Project For $30,000

Vatsal Sanghvi is the co-founder of VisualizeAI, a tool that helps architects and interior designers visualize their sketches, prototypes, and designs 👀

Vatsal recently wrote on Reddit

Our three-month-old AI-based Design tool - VisualizeAI was acquired for $30K in July this year.

He adds…

I have been tinkering around with Generative AI ever since I got my hands on text-to-image models last year… Earlier this year, I came across something called ControlNet and was amazed by what it could do.

(ControlNet is a neural network that gives you granular control over image generation in Stable Diffusion.)

So…

We built out the first version in 5 days and got our first paying customer in the next couple of days… This gave us early validation.

Looks like they got initial traction by sharing it on multiple AI directories and a successful Product Hunt launch.

Vatsal adds…

In three months, We got 🔥
✅ 22k+ Visitors
✅ 7K+ Users
✅ $1500 in Revenue & $500 in MRR
All without spending a single $ on marketing

Pretty good outcome, especially given that these guys were just following their curiosity and launched the project in 5 days 🚀

Then came the sale…

We were approached by an upcoming Canada-based estate tech Startup that was interested in a potential collaboration or an acquisition.

They ended up selling for $30,000 🤑

Writing up this newsletter every week, I notice patterns, and this is a common one: someone playing around with new tech just for the fun of it, ends up developing a rare skill and turning that into a successful business.

With that in mind, could you carve out some time to play around with some new tech you're interested in? 🤔

Turning Customer Chats into $15,000/Month

Abhishek Kumar is the founder of Deep Research, a market research agency that helps companies gather customer insights.

So basically Abhishek and his team talk to customers on your behalf and report back with useful insights 🤓

In a recent interview, he says…

Depending on the needs of our clients, we spend 4-8 weeks speaking to their customers and helping them figure out their ideal buyer personas, the messaging that resonates with their buyer personas that can be used end to end from their website to their email marketing campaigns.

Surprisingly, they only started earlier this year…

We launched in January 2023 and are making on average $10,000 monthly in revenues. That number has consistently grown over the past 10 months and we had our best revenue last month ($15,000)

🎙️ Abhishek says he initially ran a podcast…

where I would invite entrepreneurs and talk about their businesses.

[At this point] I had built a TikTok page repurposing content from YouTube that had 130k+ followers.

[I pitched] My guests [who] had tens of thousands of followers on other social platforms but no distribution on TikTok. I don't think they only came because of TikTok, but it helped my pitch stand out.

That’s when…

I realized that I enjoyed research more than anything. It was also the best part about podcasting… So last year I started to clean my plate and kill side projects that I no longer enjoyed or were making little to no money.

Then…

I’m removing tasks off my plate, increasingly thinking of research, and one fine night I see a post for a customer interview gig.

One thing led to another and I started working with Sophia at Ignore No More agency.

Working with her, I realized there’s a huge market for research for startups - not a billion-dollar market - but enough for me to start an agency of my own.

It still took a full year for me to quit my job, but I eventually did it.

How he got traction…

It’s cliche, but it's doing good work… We regularly hop on calls… In total, I wrote an email or sent a DM to 400+ founders this year alone, hopped on 50+ calls, and have made many friends.

Two things to note here 👇

First, Abhishek discovered his love of research while working on another project, his podcast.

I see this time and time again: people coming across an idea or passion while busy doing something else.

Whereas it rarely happens to someone who is just hanging out, doing nothing, hoping for inspiration to strike 😕

Second, most businesses know it's a good idea to talk to customers, but it's a pain in the ass to arrange and do.

Abhishek identified that pain point and made a business out of it 💪

Whenever you find a pain point – for you or someone else – stop and think if there could be a business opportunity there.

Last words from Abhishek…

Just start. None of our clients have ever come through our website… I speak to a ton of founders who are still stuck in these or worse yet, wondering how they'll get their 100th customer before getting their first. All of that is fake work - mental gymnastics.

The only validation of your idea is a customer’s money in the bank. Think about the shortest path to getting there. For me, it was a 2 page website + lots of Zoom calls.

🗂 Bought For $16K, Sold For $625K

From the archive, published June 2021…

SEO pro Matt Diggity details in a video how he bought a website 2.5 years ago for $15,811 and recently sold it for $625,591.

In total, he invested $57,905 into buying and growing the site. It earned less than $100 in affiliate commissions the first month he owned it, but over the 2.5 years it earned $282,513 and was at about $20k/month when sold.

Total earnings from the site in 2.5 years: $908,104.

Almost a 16x return on investment 🤑

Matt drops a lot of great info and insight in the above video.

Thanks to Fardeen Khan for helping me write and research today's newsletter.

Hasta la próxima, rock on with your legendary self 💪

Niall DohertyNiall Doherty – Canillo, Andorra
eBiz Facts   (follow on twitter)

P.S. If you're looking to buy or sell a business, check out Buy // Sell Startups.

They charge 0% commission for buyers and sellers, and have a hassle-free listing process.

What did you think of today's email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to eBiz Insider to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now