• eBiz Insider
  • Posts
  • £10K per month ecom website, for the world's 2nd favorite sport 🤔

£10K per month ecom website, for the world's 2nd favorite sport 🤔

Welcome to a fresh edition of eBiz Insider, my free newsletter packed with tips, insights and opportunities to build your online business.

Today...

  • £10K/Month Ecom Site For World's 2nd Favorite Sport

  • Making 6 Figures, Working From Anywhere

  • With This App: If You Can Draw, You Can Code

  • $1000+ A Day Affiliate Site (Sold for $1 Million)

  • Free Affiliate Marketing Courses (Updated)

  • $10K/Month Testing YouTube Thumbnails

  • Closer Than You Can Imagine

  • Latest Momentos

Did someone forward this to you? → subscribe here

£10K/Month Ecom Site For World's 2nd Favorite Sport

Checkout Village Cricket Co, a website selling products for the sport of cricket 🏏

It was started in 2020 by two guys from the UK 🇬🇧

One of the founders, Freddie Chatt, recently published this article…

(£10,000 GBP = approx $12,700 USD)

📝 Freddie writes there…

I am very interested in the sport of cricket, I’ve played for most of my life (over 20 years) so I knew a lot generally about the market. 

One thing I noticed that didn’t take a lot more research was that most brands were not very good at ‘digital’ and as a result, their websites were lacking.

More backstory from their about page

My (Freddie’s) bat broke… I was gutted but also excited to get a new wand.

After a quick search online, I was shocked at the prices of new bats… I resented paying hundreds for a new one.

So Freddie teamed up with his buddy George to create Village Cricket Co 🤝

They started small…

We were going to launch initially with one product, a cricket bat.

So I wanted to find the opportunities I had to try and rank for – incoming, keyword research.

📈 Search Engine Optimization (SEO) was key…

The main brunt of our content approach was creating bottom-of-the-funnel (BOFU) content from our keyword research targeting long-tail keywords such as ‘best cricket bat for beginners’ and lightweight cricket bat’

The FAQ section at the bottom of this page reveals how they keep their costs down…

All of our bats are created in India… The bat is sourced directly from the manufacturer, cutting out any middlemen… [and] we don’t sponsor professional players adding unnecessary costs.

They source Kashmir Willow cricket bats. Those usually cost $10-30 a pop in India 🇮🇳 and Village Cricket Co sells them for £97 ($122) to £117 ($147).

So it’s safe to assume they operate at a margin of 50% or more.

Freddie said in his article that the business does "£10k/month and beyond" in revenue, and it looks like there's still plenty of room to grow…

we had major stock issues in June, but outside of that, we would have hit over £20,000 from SEO alone.

Two takeaways here 👇

First, I like how they started small, testing out one product and making sure that worked well before expanding.

Second, Freddie was inspired to start Village Cricket Co after seeing a bunch of crappy cricket ecommerce sites.

With that in mind, keep an eye out for crappy websites when you're looking to buy something online 👀

Freddie and George only started their site 3.5 years ago, selling products for the #2 most popular sport in the world.

So clearly there are plenty of opportunities still out there 👍

Making 6 Figures, Working From Anywhere

Today's email is brought to you by Comprehensive Copywriting Academy.

That's a highly-rated copywriting course by Filthy Rich Writer 🤩

One student told us

I can honestly say that without the CCA my copywriting business wouldn’t exist. Nicki walks you through everything you need to know, from the nuts and bolts of setting up a business from zero to how to write great copy. 

Thanks to her guidance, I’m making six figures and can work from anywhere.

With This App: If You Can Draw, You Can Code

Get ready to have your mind blown 🤯

tldraw is an open source, free whiteboard tool.

They recently launched a unique AI feature called MakeReal (OpenAI API required) that lets you draw an app or website ✍️

Then, with the click of a button, it outputs the code that brings your app to life.

Here’s the official launch tweet from tldraw, where they quickly create a website.

Since release, people have been using it to make things like…

Incredible, right? 😱

MakeReal and tools like it are making it easy for non-coders to code.

Doesn't look like you can create complex apps with this yet, but you could probably build tiny utility tools and monetise via display ads 🤑

We've covered a few projects like that in previous editions of this newsletter…

If you'd like to try this yourself, check out Tim Bennetto's process. He's used it to build a suite of tiny tools that bring his website 300K visits each month 📈

🗂 $1000+ A Day Affiliate Site (Sold for $1 Million)

From the archive, published November 2022…

Check out EverydayCarry.com, a review and recommendation site for gear and gadgets. They rank well on Google for terms such as brightest flashlight and best pocket knife.

It started as a Tumblr blog back in 2009 by Bernard Capulong.

Bernard remains the site’s editor in chief, but the site was recently sold for $1 million 💰

The new owner reports that the site makes “$1000+ every day” from affiliate commissions, mainly linking to products on Amazon.

But that’s not even the biggest revenue stream for the business, with “one off ad sales” making up “over 50% of the revenue.”

So the site is doing around $70K in total revenue each month 🤑

Not bad for something that started as an “outlet for [Bernard] to share his favorite headphones or pliers.”

Free Affiliate Marketing Courses (Updated)

You'll find 10 free resources on the list.

My top 2 recommendations…

Work your way through just those 2 resources, and you'll have a good shot at building a successful affiliate marketing business 💪

$10K/Month Testing YouTube Thumbnails

@RoxCodes tweeted back in July…

I have been building startups for almost 5 years

this is the first time I've broken $10k in one month

💬 He’s talking about Thumbnail Test, a tool that lets you…

Test different thumbnails and titles live on YouTube.

Rox in another tweet

I launched the tool June 30th, 2022

It took me 507 days to hit $10k MRR

Of those days, I personally spent about 65% full-time on the tool

💰 Then, a few weeks ago, he wrote

4 months later, had my first $20k month :)

note: this is not MRR, I just had a lot of annual plans this month

Rox writes elsewhere about his big turning point in Aug 2022…

Somehow the Mr Beast team found my twitter/twitch/thumbnailtest.com and asked me to come build some cool secret stuff for them. So I did! It was only a 3 month contract, but I worked my absolute ass off…

After working with Mr Beast, I realized I had to shoot for bigger things. I truly believe I can do something amazing with my life, I just have to push myself to do it.

He calls this his 10x Mindset Shift 🧠

Another recent tweet

I find that the thing holding me back most is thinking of my tools as "projects"

when I think of the project, I think of improving it, building it up, making something I'm proud of

But now I think of the tool as a business

I focus on marketing and getting myself out of day2day

Rox points to these two videos as the likely reason for his big $20K month.

And notes that doing affiliate and sponsored partnerships with video creators has been huge for growing the business 🚀

Another tweet that speaks to this…

the less I worry about the small details, the better the business does

More marketing and partnerships -> more MRR -> can do more things w/ $

Last thing here: check out the little "guess which thumbnail won" game Rox has on his homepage 👀

It's a nice interactive way of showing people the value of his product. (Plus you get offered a discount code if you play a few rounds.)

🔎 permalink

🗂 Closer Than You Can Imagine

From the archive, published November 2022…

Bill Walsh coached his way to three NFL championships with the San Francisco 49ers 🏆

In his famous book on leadership, The Score Takes Care of Itself, he shares five “dos” for getting back in a game when you’re losing.

My favorite of the five…

Do tell yourself, “I am going to stand and fight again,” with the knowledge that often when things are at their worst you’re closer than you can imagine to success. Our Super Bowl victory arrived less than sixteen months after my “train wreck” in Miami.

For context, that “train wreck” was the 49ers eighth consecutive loss, it dropped Walsh’s NFL head coaching record to 5-22, and had him thinking he was about to be fired 😱

Over the next sixteen months he won 19 games (including his first Super Bowl), and lost only 5.

At his lowest point, he was closer than he could have imagined.

🔎 permalink

Latest Momentos

My latest batch of personal ramblings is here if you fancy a look 👀

From December 7th…

Group call with some SEO ninjas, dissecting my site. In summary, it's quite shit in many ways. But I come away somewhat relieved, because it's all fixable and I know I can fix it. I get excited thinking about how much better we can make this thing.

Thanks to Fardeen Khan for helping me write and research today's newsletter.

Hasta la próxima, rock on with your legendary self 💪

Niall DohertyNiall Doherty – Canillo, Andorra
eBiz Facts   (follow on twitter)

P.S. Today's email is brought to you by Filthy Rich Writer's highly-rated Comprehensive Copywriting Academy

Read our review or check out their free training for more info 😎

What did you think of today's email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to eBiz Insider to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now