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She earned $110K in 1 month these from 2 websites šŸ¤Æ

Welcome to a fresh edition of eBiz Insider, my free newsletter packed with tips, insights and opportunities to build your online business.

Today...

  • She Earned $110K in 1 Month From 2 Websites

  • Making 6 Figures, Working From Anywhere

  • Started With $500, Then Earned $30K in 60 Days

  • $7000/Month Spreadsheet

  • Hard Work Matters, Butā€¦

  • $63K/Year With a Paid Newsletter About Food Policy

  • She Earns $5000/Month Redesigning Peopleā€™s Signatures

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She Earned $110K in 1 Month From 2 Websites

Nina Clapperton runs multiple niche websites and shares her revenue numbers online šŸ¤‘

Her post from a few months backā€¦

The vast majority of her earnings come from two sites.

Site one appears to be her travel blog, Nina Out and About, easy to find by googling her name.

Nina's numbers for that site last June šŸ‘‡

Pageviews: 202k
Age: 6+ years
Affiliates = $21,810.72
Ads = $5,729.10
Courses = $182.00
Total = $27,648.67

Site two is all about SEO and blogging: She Knows SEO

Numbers for June šŸ‘‡

Pageviews: 11k
Age: 1.5 years
Affiliates = $8,287.91
Coaching/Services = $24,764.00
Courses = $52,254.30
Email Sponsors = $200.00
Total = $85,506.21

Nina believes that her success "is entirely replicable in any niche"...

I showed up. I proved myself and built trust. I connected with my audience and offered them a ton of value. And then I asked for sales later.

Sure, She Knows SEO has only existed for 18 months, but long before that I was showing up in FB groups helping people out ā€“ even if it was misguided sometimes cause I thought I knew what I was talking about but I definitely didnā€™t.

And I kept helping people for free until I felt confident in my skills and had the stats to back them up. Then I monetized it.

šŸ”‘ Helping people for free seems to be keyā€¦

My audience saw a lot of me as I enacted my ā€œCostco free sample policyā€ ā€“ aka. Letting them try an egg roll before they commit to a box of 800 egg rollsā€¦

I like to help people grow with my free tips so they can 1) see that it works and 2) start earning the $$ to afford my services.

Get a feel for Nina's free content via Twitter and YouTube šŸ‘ˆ

Also, Nina's story reminds me of that of Anne Mossā€¦

Making 6 Figures, Working From Anywhere

Today's email is brought to you by Comprehensive Copywriting Academy.

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One student told usā€¦

I can honestly say that without the CCA my copywriting business wouldnā€™t exist. Nicki walks you through everything you need to know, from the nuts and bolts of setting up a business from zero to how to write great copy.Ā 

Thanks to her guidance, Iā€™m making six figures and can work from anywhere.

Started With $500, Then Earned $30K in 60 Days

In a recent video, Joe Davies reveals how he earned $30K in 60 days with his WordPress plugin, Query HunterĀ šŸ˜Ž

It all started whenā€¦

I came across a bit of a problem when using Google Search Console and editing my WordPress website. I found Google Search Console to be very hard to use and not very user friendly.

I couldn't cross reference it against my content well enough so I decided to make a plugin that essentially told me what keywords I was missing that I was being found for.

Butā€¦

I'm in no way technical. I don't know how to code. I don't know how to build WordPress plugins.

šŸ¤ So, he hired a freelancer on Upwork to build it for himā€¦

I paid $500 for the first iteration of Query Hunter, which was quite advanced in some respects because it was connecting to Google Search Console. But at the end of the day it was just pulling through Google Search Console data.

He addsā€¦

You want to do the least feature version first, get it done as quickly as possible. What's the main feature you want? You want the MVP of it, just get that built.

(MVP = Minimum Viable Product)

Joe does have 20K+ followers on Twitter/X, which surely helped him promote the plugin šŸ“£

But if you don't have an audience, he recommendsā€¦

To get initial traction, contact the large X profiles that might want to use this.

Give it away, ask them what they think of it and ask them if they want to promote it to their newsletter, to their X page, activate the affiliate program [and] give them a big percentage.

šŸ’” If you've got an ideaā€¦

don't be scared of getting on Upwork and giving a developer your dream list of a plugin. You might be surprised with what they come up withā€¦ Get it on Gumroad and see if you can create a nice little side hustle.

His advice for working with freelancers on Upworkā€¦

For a simple plugin that does one or two things and probably doesn't use any advanced tech, you're probably looking at between $250 and $500 [to get it built]ā€¦

You want to find people who've built plugins beforeā€¦ if you're building an SEO plugin hopefully they've made an SEO plugin before. If you're building a plugin for some other industry, hopefully they've built a plugin in that industryā€¦

I always recommend getting on a call before you hire themā€¦ itā€™s only when you quiz them on certain things that you kind of get the real answerā€¦ you need to go through your list of specifications and you say can this be done [or not].

Joe has since introduced Query Hunter 2.0, available as a WordPress plugin or a Chrome extension.

Is there a Chrome extension or WordPress plugin you wish existed? šŸ¤”

You could try getting it built like Joe suggests, see if it could become a nice earner for you.

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šŸ—‚ $7000/Month Spreadsheet

From the archive, published February 2022ā€¦

Alex West recently announced that heā€™s up to $7000 MRR with cyberleads.co.

CyberLeads is essentially a spreadsheet listing contact info of companies that just raised funding and are probably looking to hire help. The service is aimed at agencies on the hunt for new clients.

In his Twitter bio, Alex writes that he ā€œprev built and failed 19 productsā€ over the past 5 years šŸ˜°

He also tweetedā€¦

If you feel like you are progressing slowly, donā€™t worry. Your progress wonā€™t be linear. Most people (and almost myself) give up in year 1 or 2.

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Hard Work Matters, Butā€¦

šŸ“– From the book The Almanack of Naval Ravikantā€¦

Itā€™s not really about hard work. You can work in a restaurant eighty hours a week, and youā€™re not going to get rich. Getting rich is about knowing what to do, who to do it with, and when to do it. It is much more about understanding than purely hard work.Ā 

Yes, hard work matters, and you canā€™t skimp on it. But it has to be directed in the right way.

šŸ’¬ Reminds me of words from Robert Ringerā€™s book, Winning Through Intimidationā€¦

Have you not seen, with your own eyes, that working long, hard hours does not by itself assure a person of success?Ā 

In this regard, I often think of my Uncle Georgeā€¦ This kindly little gentleman owned a corner grocery store and worked fourteen- to sixteen-hour days all his life. He never succeeded in getting rich, but he did get old.

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$63K/Year With a Paid Newsletter About Food Policy

Helena Bottemiller Evich is the founder of Food FixĀ šŸ„¦

That's a premium newsletter which aims to be "the go-to source for food policy news and analysis, for insiders and consumers alike."

šŸ“ Per a recent articleā€¦

In 2013, Politico recruited Helena to help launch its food safety coverageā€¦

While at Politico, Helena saw the power of a subscription-based site and newsletterā€¦

Writing for Politico Pro (paid) and Politico.com (free), Helena gained valuable experience in subscription-based writing.

She also saw that the paid site attracted a bigger B2B audience while the free side was more B2C.

Thenā€¦

In 2022, Helena made the bold decision to leave Politico and start a content business ā€“ Food Fix, a weekly newsletter for food policy news and analysis.

Helena's motivationā€¦

There was nowhere to go to just focus on food policy. It is barely covered by the mainstream media but extremely important. I knew I could fill this gap.

šŸš€ To get startedā€¦

Helena sent out batch emails to her industry contacts, letting them know she was starting a newsletter and directing them to a landing page to subscribe to an unpublished newsletter.

Then she began publishingā€¦

Helena formally launched Food Fix in August 2022ā€¦ All content was free in the first monthā€¦

In September, the Friday edition remained free, and Tuesday editions were available to paid subscribers, mostly professionals who need the information she covers and analyzes for their jobsā€¦

Fortunately, Helenaā€™s content and expert knowledge led to paid subscribers almost immediately. She made her first dollar within a month of launching her business and four months after leaving her full-time gig.

The article notesā€¦ ā€a big part of her success is her writing styleā€ āœļø

Hereā€™s a recent free edition of Helena's newsletter so you can get a feel for it.

A paid subscription to Food Fix starts at $500/year. Helena also offers academia and student discount pricing at $300/year and $50/year respectively.

Food Fix apparently has 6,000 subscribers, but itā€™s unclear how many are free vs paid šŸ§

Simon Ovens writes that 5% is a realistic conversion rate for paid newsletters.

But let's be conservative and say Food Fix has a 3% conversion rate and the average paid subscriber pays $350/year.

180 x $350 = $63,000 in annual revenue šŸ’°

Impressive for a 1.5-year-old niche newsletter.

And I like how Helena basically started a business doing the same thing she did as an employee: writing about food policy.

She got paid by Politico for 10 years to hone her skills and build a reputation, then struck out on her own.

What work have you done as an employee that could be the basis of your own business? šŸ¤”

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šŸ—‚ She Earns $5000/Month Redesigning Peopleā€™s Signatures

From the archive, published June 2023ā€¦

From an AP article entitled, Hate your signature? Try plastic surgery for autographsā€¦

Priscilla Molina in Los Angeles does a minimum of 300 custom signatures a month, offering packages that include up to three ways to sign, limitless drafts or a new set of initials. She charges between $10 to $55, using the motto: ā€œWhere originality meets legacy.ā€

Molina said her Planet of Names clients include professionals and famous people in search of new ways to sign autographs, though her lips are sealed on the identities of high-profile signature seekers.

So people ask Priscilla to create a nicer version of their signature, and she likely earns $5000 or more each month doing just that šŸ¤‘

Looks like she gets most of her business via TikTok, where sheā€™s gained almost 1 million followers since her first post in Sept 2021.

All her TikToks are simple videos of her writing words and letters.

For example, she has 12 million views on this 19-second video of her writing the letter KĀ šŸ¤Æ

Meanwhile, thereā€™s a guy from Pakistan doing signature calligraphy on Fiverr. His pricing starts at $10 and he has 1000+ positive reviews.

He started on Fiverr in 2018 and could easily be earning $1000/month with that service. Which is pretty good in a country where the average monthly salary is less than $300Ā šŸ‡µšŸ‡°

A third business along these lines, via a tweet by Kenneth Casselā€¦

Randomly found this biz

Fill out a questionnaire, and they send you a custom signature

Theyā€™ve done over 10k sales, lowest tier is $85

Kind of wild someone has made close to $1m selling signatures

The business heā€™s referring to is SignaturePro.

They claim to have served 10,500 clients.

10,500 x 85 = $892,500Ā 

Something about this one smells fishy to me though šŸŸ

The earliest version of their website is from June 2022, so only a year ago. And by then they had apparently served 6500 clients.

First post on their Instagram is also about a year old, and they launched on ProductHunt last July.

How did they manage to find and serve 6500 clients before launching their website or social media? šŸ§

Ann Storm is listed as the co-founder of SignaturePro, and she barely seems to exist online. She calls herself the ā€œchief calligrapherā€ and the company apparently has a bunch of other calligraphers on call.

So basically an agency model.

While Iā€™m very skeptical about those first 6500 clients, Iā€™m more inclined to believe that theyā€™ve served 4000 clients over the past year.

Looks like their launch on ProductHunt went well, and they did get a mention in the same syndicated AP article that mentioned Priscilla.

Could be a case of fake it til you make it šŸ¤·ā€ā™€ļø

4000 x 85 = $340,000

If true, thatā€™s an incredible amount to earn in 1 year simply by redesigning peopleā€™s signatures āœļø

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ā€¦

Thanks to Fardeen Khan for helping me write and research today's newsletter.

Hasta la prĆ³xima, rock on with your legendary self šŸ’Ŗ

Niall DohertyNiall Doherty ā€“ Canillo, Andorra
eBiz Facts   (follow on twitter)

P.S. Today's email is brought to you by Filthy Rich Writer's highly-rated Comprehensive Copywriting Academy.

Read our review or check out their free training for more info šŸ˜Ž

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