• eBiz Insider
  • Posts
  • Just Launched: My Free Chrome Extension šŸš€

Just Launched: My Free Chrome Extension šŸš€

Welcome to a fresh edition of eBiz Insider, my free newsletter packed with tips, insights and opportunities to build your online business.

Today...

  • Single Mom With Chronic Illness Earning $4500/Month

  • An Encyclopedia for Making Money Online

  • His Boring Business = $1.7 Million Annual Revenue

  • 1000x Better Than A Great Idea

  • $5000/Month From His Travel Sites

  • Update: $10K/Month Converting Text

  • $182K Per Year Via YouTube

  • Just Launched: My Free Chrome Extension

Did someone forward this to you? ā†’ subscribe here

Single Mom With Chronic Illness Earning $4500/Month

Sarah Stewart is a Glasgow-based time management coach ā°

Per a recent interview, she left her corporate job in May 2021 and now earns ~$4.5K/month.

šŸš€ Origin storyā€¦

I was diagnosed with Crohnā€™s Disease shortly after my mum passed away when I was 20 years oldā€¦

Soon after, Sarah's father hired a life coach to help her stay on trackā€¦

Some of the first things that I started to work on with my life coach were how to prioritize my to-do list, and how to schedule my workload.

We created study schedules for my third year of university; the workload for pharmacy was intense and I was studying most weeks during term-time in addition to my classes.

She taught me how to prioritize my tasks, thinking ahead about how much time I realistically had and making sure I had a balance of work and play.

And so Sarah got quite good at managing her time. She later became a single parent, which took her time management skills to the next level šŸ’Ŗ

She left her corporate job during the pandemic and was training to be a life coach herselfā€¦

The lightbulb moment came when I was on a Zoom call with some of my peers that I had trained with when I suddenly realized that I should be leveraging my strengths, skills, and knowledge from my corporate career as well as my lived experience and I very quickly niched into time management at this point. It felt very natural to make this pivot.

From discussions with multiple people from all walks of lifeā€¦ managing time seems to be a common struggle. When I meet new people and mention that I am in the niche of time managementā€¦ the most common response is ā€œIā€™m so rubbish with my time, I could benefit from your helpā€.

Sarah monetizes in a few ways šŸ‘‡

Sarah says about the cohort course, priced at Ā£1499ā€¦

I have successfully launched this program four times over the last two years, where Iā€™ve delivered the material to cohorts of no more than 15 people.

She addsā€¦Ā 

The business is profitable, and I achieve this through multiple income streams including coaching, consulting, workshops, and events.

To date, I have served 121 customers, and my lifetime revenue is $150k. Each month the number of customers I work with varies, but I can work with 5 coaching and/or consulting clients alongside those that join my program during a launch (no more than 20 in a cohort).Ā 

My average monthly revenue is currently $4,500.

šŸ“¢ Sarah's approach to marketingā€¦

I decided to play the long game with my marketing, placing a strong focus from the beginning on blogging and email marketing. The majority of my customers have been on my mailing list, where I provide value each week with my [news]letter.

Sounds like she doesnā€™t have a huge audience either. Instagram looks like her most popular channel, with about 5100 followersĀ šŸ‘€

A nice takeaway from Sarah's storyā€¦

the more organised I am in my home life, the easier it is in my work life.

True: if your personal life is a mess, itā€™s hard to focus on work.

What are some loose ends you could tie up in your personal life so it's easier to build your business? šŸ¤”

šŸ”ŽĀ permalink

An Encyclopedia for Making Money Online

Today's email is brought to you by Proven Amazon Course šŸ‘ˆ

That's the top-rated Amazon course on my site, with 30+ glowing reviews from studentsĀ šŸ¤©

One student calls itā€¦

An encyclopedia on making money by using the internet creativelyā€¦ The wealth of information and kindness in that group is next to none. I had my account for about 5 months and ended the year at $64k.

Lots of Amazon courses are super-expensive and underwhelming. Proven Amazon Course is the opposite, with the price set at only $39/month and offering a ridiculous amount of value.

His Boring Business = $1.7 Million Annual Revenue

David C. Baker is the founder of Punctuation, tag lineā€¦

The leading authority on positioning, reinventing, and selling firms in the creative and digital space

David runs Punctuation with his son Jonathan.

šŸ’¬ In a recent interview, he revealsā€¦

Thereā€™s two of us. Itā€™s a $1.7 million business, hardly any overhead at all.

šŸ“§ Apparently it's David's email list that powers the businessā€¦

I feel like I could rebuild anything I wanted if I had that. I guess thatā€™s because I have this relationship with these, at the moment, itā€™s 13,000 people that get a weekly email from me.

Whatever I wanted to do, I could do it as long as I could tell those people what Iā€™m doingā€¦

itā€™s also the one thing that Iā€™ve been doing for almost 30 years, even before there were email service providers, is doing that weekly email.

David's approachā€¦

Letā€™s say I go to a website, and something intrigues me, and I kind of want to read this .pdf theyā€™re promising me.

But I know that nine times out of 10, Iā€™m gonna be disappointed, and that Iā€™m going to be dropped into some stream, or theyā€™ll try to convert me to something else.

It just annoys me! So I just donā€™t do that to people.

šŸŒ And he likes to take it slowā€¦

Iā€™ve been doing it for many years. I love helping people. Iā€™m going to keep giving away what I hope is useful content.

And if you need to talk with me next week, or 10 years from now, thatā€™s totally fine. I want to wait until you really need me.

He addsā€¦Ā 

If you look at the growth of my email list, it seems somewhat like a failure, as itā€™s been around for two and a half, three decades, and itā€™s only 13,000. But itā€™s more about the quality of the list than it is the quantity.

Only 13,000 people, but through the relationships he's built with his subscribers, the business does $1.7 million in annual revenue šŸ¤Æ

Goes to show that you don't need a big audience to earn big money.

Especially if you're focused on providing value and willing to play the long game.

Wrapping it up with a fitting quote from Mark Manson, via one of David's articles šŸ‘‡

The older I get, the more I realize that success at most things isnā€™t about finding the one trick or secret nobody knows about. Itā€™s consistently doing the boring, mundane things everyone knows about but is too unfocused/undisciplined to do. Get good at boring.

šŸ”ŽĀ permalink

šŸ—‚ 1000x Better Than A Great Idea

From the archive, published September 2022ā€¦

Felix Dennis was a šŸ‡¬šŸ‡§ British entrepreneur who amassed a mega-fortune in the publishing industry.

Words from his book, How To Get Rich, which is much better than it soundsā€¦

The follow-through, the execution, is a thousand times more important than a ā€œgreat idea.ā€ In fact, if the execution is perfect, it sometimes barely matters what the idea is.Ā 

If you want to get rich, donā€™t sit around waiting for inspiration to strike. Just get busy getting rich.

šŸ”ŽĀ permalink

$5000/Month From His Travel Sites

šŸļø Sean Lau is the travel blogger behind these sitesā€¦

In a recent interview he revealsā€¦

The sites earn about $5k a month through a mix of affiliates, sponsorships, and advertising.

It took about 4 years for me to achieve this level, but since then, Iā€™ve had 5-figure months as well.

Sean started out as a travel blogger becauseā€¦

I thought, "Hey, who wouldn't want free stays and some extra bucks while doing what they loveā€”traveling?" Turns out, I was clueless about how to make that happen.

šŸ˜© And so he struggled at firstā€¦

My first attempts at blogging were about as successful as a penguin trying to fly. But then fate introduced me to some successful travel bloggers in a random small town in Guatemala.

After soaking up their knowledge like a sponge and applying some of the strategies, my blog began to gain traction and started taking off, and eventually reached Mediavine.

(Mediavine = a premium display ads network)

Since then, it has allowed me to travel full-time and share my travel experiences as I continue to explore the world!

So things changed for Sean once he met and hung out with people who'd already achieved the success he was aiming for.

I'd highly recommend trying that yourself šŸ‘

If you canā€™t do it in person, do it online. Build real relationships with those people, get on calls with them, maybe form a mastermind.

After Sean started seeing success with his first siteā€¦

Then came along The Turkey Traveler and Travel Thailand Together, my joint ventures with my business partner. We absolutely adored these two countries, and we wanted to help others fall in love with them, too.

šŸ“ˆ In terms of growing the sitesā€¦

I'd have to say it's SEO. It's simply the best way to drive organic traffic to my sites. But there's more to just SEO for getting organic traffic.

How Sean thinks about failureā€¦

My most significant accomplishment as an entrepreneur has been redefining my relationship with failure. It's no longer a dead-end or a sign of defeat for me. Instead, I see it as a stepping stone towards success.

Update: $10K/Month Converting Text

Last issue I shared a story about Convert Case, ā€œa website that provides a simple and user-friendly tool for converting text between different letter case formats.ā€

I wrote that the site was earning $10,000+ in monthly revenue šŸ¤‘

Jason Gillyon, the owner of Convert Case, got in touch afterwards to say that the site has actually averaged $25,000 in monthly revenue over the past year!

We've updated the story with that info šŸ‘

šŸ—‚ $182K Per Year Via YouTube

From the archive, published December 2022ā€¦

The channel is called Debt To Dollars.

Josh Ellwood started it in February 2020, and it has since grown to 67,000+ subscribers šŸ“ˆ

In a recent interview, Josh broke down how he earns money from his channelā€¦

I make over $80,000/yr from ad revenue generated from my YouTube videos. The majority of my monthly income comes from video tutorials that I created over a year ago! [ā€¦] My Patreon, Fiverr, affiliate marketing, and brand deals produce another $102k/yr on top of this.

Josh mainly makes videos about Amazon FBA and side hustles, averaging one video per week.

He uses the higher tiers on his Patreon ($50 to $149 per month) as a form of mentorship, and his FBA product research gig on Fiverr seems to be quite popular.

Josh is a great example of someone who has a medium-sized YouTube channel but monetizes it in multiple ways to earn a great income šŸ’°

You might find it encouraging to check out his first video, which is quite basic with poor sound qualityā€¦

But hey, you gotta start somewhere.

šŸ”ŽĀ permalink

Just Launched: My Free Chrome Extension

My main business is reviewing online business courses.Ā 

Many of those courses have sales videos where the controls are hidden, forcing you to watch the video as if itā€™s live šŸ™„

My team and I found this annoying, so we built a little Chrome extension to take back control.

Once built, we decided to make it public so anyone could use it.

Check it out on the Chrome Web Storeā€¦

(It works on Instagram too and that was the best keyword I found, hence the listing name.)

I made this 2-minute demo video to show how it works šŸ‘€Ā 

If you try the extension and find it useful, please considerā€¦

That would be really helpful.

Also, for the SEO geeks out there, note that launching this little Chrome extension has so far resulted in two nice "dofollow" backlinks for my site.

One from the Chrome Web Store (DR92) and one from Product Hunt (DR91).

I have a few more tools and projects like this in the works, which should help build some links and improve my site's overall SEO.

I'll let you know how it goes.

ā€¦

Thanks to Fardeen Khan for helping me write and research today's newsletter.

Hasta la prĆ³xima, rock on with your legendary self šŸ’Ŗ

Niall DohertyNiall Doherty ā€“ Canillo, Andorra
eBiz Facts   (follow on twitter)

P.S. Looking to build an Amazon business on a budget?

Then check out Proven Amazon Course (or read 30+ reviews here) šŸ¤©

What did you think of today's email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to eBiz Insider to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now