• eBiz Insider
  • Posts
  • $144,000 in 12 months selling templates 🤑

$144,000 in 12 months selling templates 🤑

Welcome to a fresh edition of eBiz Insider, my free newsletter packed with tips, insights and opportunities to build your online business.

Today...

  • $144,000 in 12 Months Selling Templates

  • Making $1000's in Profits With POD

  • "Very Simple Tool" Has Earned 10K Since September

  • 6-Figure Newsletter About Podcasting

  • Website That Teaches You How To Sing = $10,000/Month

  • April Finance Report

  • $47,055 From a 25-Page Coloring Book

Did someone forward this to you? → subscribe here

$144,000 in 12 Months Selling Templates

💬 Pascio tweeted last August…

I made $144,000 the last 12 months.

The product I'm selling is Notion templates.

See all his templates for sale here 👈

He says…

15 months ago [May 2022] I built my very first template.

It was a health tracking system that I needed for myself.

It helped me keep track of my workouts, nutrition and self development.

I ended up sharing this template on Reddit.

After posting to the Notion subreddit, everyone started asking for the template…

I recognized that there was demand for these templates.

I decided to try and charge money for it.

Pascio now has an audience of 104K followers on X, and it looks like that's one of the main ways he markets his templates 👀

However, he only had 1000 followers 2 years ago, and has built a strong following as the one of the go-to Notion guys.

Check here for his top tweets from 2022, some ideas there you could steal to build your own audience 😉

Back to the initial template Pascio created: he slapped a $15 price tag on it and launched on Product Hunt…

On the first day I made $100. The next day $200.

After a week, I had made $500.

🤔 That’s when he thought…

If I can make $500 off one product

How much can I make if I have 20 products?

So I started building new products,

Products that solved problems for others.

These are digital products (templates), so the profit margin is likely 90% or better 💪

Pascio went on to create all types of templates…

The more products I had, the more upsells and bundles I could make.

If a customer came to spend $10, they usually left spending $50.

Why? Because I had so many products to pick from.

I crafted great offers, bundles and upsells for them.

Which eventually allowed him to quit his job after 6 months 🥳

His formula…

1. Build a product that solves a problem
2. Put product for sale on Gumroad
3. Launch product on Producthunt
4. Do upsells, bundles and emails
5. Get paid on autopilot

Also interesting to see that Pascio recently launched a paid community: Notion Creator Mastery

He's already got 166 members in there, though many probably got in free when he first announced it.

Still, with a $97-297/month price point, that could end up generating a lot more revenue for Pascio down the line 💰

🔎 permalink

Making $1000's in Profits With POD

Today's email is brought to you by Low Hanging System 🥳

That's a highly-rated print-on-demand (POD) course by Rachel Rofé.

With a print-on-demand business, you provide the graphics that will be put on t-shirts, mugs, etc. You then sell those products on sites like Esty, Amazon, and eBay 🛍️

When someone buys, a fulfillment service prints your design onto the product, then ships it directly to the customer.

💬 Here's what one student told us about Low Hanging System…

​​I was unfamiliar with POD or making any money online before this course, and after eight months of consistently implementing the training I’ve been making a few thousand in profits…

It does take time and effort to implement the training, but so far I’m on track to make more money with this system than I have with my college degree.

Read more student reviews here, or check out the free intro training 👈

"Very Simple Tool" Has Earned 10K Since September

Recent post from Jun Peng Wei (@wow_things) on Reddit…

📝 He writes…

Initially, I wasn't a professional programmer, but since I started coding, I've been fascinated by the charm of creating something with my own hands.

Like many developers, I wanted to make my own "great product" like YouTube or Instagram.

I took many courses, read some books, and participated in a few startups. But a few years ago, I gave up on that idea.

The only quote I remembered from all the quotes was "Create something that helps others, starting with helping yourself."

So he did…

My friends and I often changed wallpapers, but it took a lot of time to find a suitable one. So I created an app that updates wallpapers daily: TuKa Wallpaper

But it's not the protagonist today because its impact wasn't significant after release; I only made one language version.

The real protagonist was the idea that emerged while making TuKa Wallpaper.

I often needed to create beautiful mockups, hoping to make my app into a beautiful image to share on social media for marketing…

So, to make image editing easier, I developed a very simple tool…

That's NiceShots.

Looks like he released that app last September 🚀

Then, to Jun Peng's surprise…

In the first few days after its release, with very little promotion, many people started using it, with the highest rank on the App Store reaching fifth place. It was even recommended by Apple a few times…

NiceShots has been downloaded over 30,000 times, and together with my first app, TuKa Wallpaper, it has generated over 10,000 in revenue for me.

He doesn't say if that's 10K USD or some other currency.

Best I can tell, Jun Peng is from China 🇨🇳 and 10K Chinese Yuan works out to about $1,400 USD.

The premium versions of his apps sell for $1-5 a pop.

If the average sale is only $2, he'd need 700 of those 30,000 free users to go premium to earn $1400 🤑

Which is probably a realistic conversion rate (2.33%) for apps like that.

So this isn't a huge success story for Jun Peng yet, but he's well on his way 📈

And it's another great example of how taking action leads to good things, even if the initial thing you take action on doesn't work out.

Tuka Wallpaper was a bit of a flop for Jun Peng, but it gave him the idea for NiceShots, which will likely earn passive income for a long time to come 😎

🔎 permalink

🗂 6-Figure Newsletter About Podcasting

From the archive, published December 2022…

The newsletter is called Hot Pod and it was apparently earning founder Nick Quah six figures a year before he sold it for an undisclosed sum.

Nick started it as a side hustle in 2014, and the interesting thing to me is that he didn’t know much about podcasting initially. He even says that he started the newsletter as a way to learn about the business of podcasting.

Goes to show: you don’t need to be an expert to start something.

You can always take the approach of being an eager student, sharing what you learn.

🔎 permalink

Website That Teaches You How To Sing = $10,000/Month

🥕 Singing Carrots is an app to help you practice singing…

Singing Training for people who trust Science, Data, and Numbers. Pitch, vocal range, and rhythm improvement exercises packed into an interactive game.

Founder Sergey Kyune is based in Portugal 🇵🇹 and revealed in a recent interview

Three years later, I’m at the point where it feeds my family. My MRR is €7,300, but my one-time sales and ad revenue bring it to about €10k/mo ($10.7K/month)

I'm guessing the ads are mainly shown to free users.

How Sergey found his first customers 👇

I tried to post links to my product in every corner of the internet that mentioned the word “singing.” The first users came from Reddit and Quora.

Reaching out directly to music blog owners, teachers with websites, and relevant Facebook group admins brought some users too.

🚀 But it sounds like the business really took off after he started his YouTube channel

I decided that my strategy would be to teach theory for free and sell tools that assist with practice.

So, I started by recording video lessons, vocal exercises, and warmups, and publishing them on YouTube.

His very simple first video from June 2020 👀

Then, I added some articles to our blog.

Over time, as the size of our educational library grew, I converted it into a free course for beginners. That has been a huge driver of growth.

Love that, repurposing some of his existing content into a free course / lead magnet = working smarter, not harder.

Additionally, I created simplified versions of the tools we sell and made them available for free on the website. Like this simple pitch monitor.

Free tools like that often go a long way to building backlinks and thereby increasing search engine rankings 📈

(We're trying to do similar on eBiz Facts, starting with Video Vigilante

Sergey says he doubled down on his app after…

I slipped into burnout, this project was the only thing that still held my interest. So I decided to quit [my job] and educate myself on how to turn it into something that could feed me.

Apparently Sergey built the first version of Singing Carrots to help improve his own singing 🎶

Is there a skill you're trying to learn?

Maybe you've found the existing tools or tutorials lacking.

Could you create something better? 🤔

Or perhaps partner with an expert to build something?

🔎 permalink

April Finance Report

My latest monthly finance report is here 👈 detailing everything we earned and spent in my business last month.

  • $23,847 income

  • $5,590 expenses

More details in the full report.

🗂 $47,055 From a 25-Page Coloring Book

From the archive, published April 2023…

That KDP Guy shares on Twitter

My best selling book is a quote coloring book.

It is a gag gift.

It’s only got 25 coloring pages.

Cost me less than $5 for the interior.

Compiled in Canva in a few hours.

It made $47,055 in just over 2 years

He sells the book on Amazon but doesn’t reveal the exact listing 😭

I get the impression it’s a coloring book for adults, so it might be something like this “motivational swear words” coloring book that has 13,000+ reviews on Amazon.

KDP Guy says he spent less than $2000 on ads to promote the book, and also spent very little time researching the idea…

It took about 2 hours of research from memory. I took what was a popular notebook idea and turned it into coloring book. It’s now become its own niche with over 1000 books. I started with automatic ads in UK spending £2 per day with a £0.05 cost per click.

🤔 Asked if this could work in 2023, he replied…

Absolutely, but your best bet is to bring a fresh idea. All anyone seems to do lately is copy covers

I searched on Amazon to see if anyone has done coloring books for different professions, but couldn’t find anything for professions such as…

  • Nurses

  • Accountants

  • Cashiers

So there might be an opportunity there. Hobbies could also work well, in keeping with the “gag gift” angle 🎁

That said, I think this kind of business is very much a numbers game. 

The company that produces the coloring book I linked to above has 270+ others listed on Amazon right now, and only two of them have more than 200 reviews, meaning probably only two of them generate significant income.

But if you can figure out a way to quickly pump out that kind of book – and an AI tool like Midjourney could surely help with that – it could well be worth it in the long run.

🔎 permalink

Thanks to Fardeen Khan for helping me write and research today's newsletter.

Hasta la próxima, rock on with your legendary self 💪

Niall DohertyNiall Doherty – Canillo, Andorra
eBiz Facts   (follow on twitter)

P.S. Interested in the print-on-demand business model?

Then check out this free intro training 👈 from the highly-rated Low Hanging System.

What did you think of today's email?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to eBiz Insider to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now